cookieChoices = {};'

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Emanuel County GA Records are Online

Emanuel County was created in 1812 from Bulloch and Montgomery counties. The county was named for Georgia Governor David Emanuel (1744-1810) Subsequently, portions of Emanuel County were used to create the following counties: Johnson (1858), Jenkins and Toombs (1905), Candler (1914), and Treutlen (1918). The first commissioners in 1812 were: Edward Lane, Francis Pugh, Needham Cox, Eli Whitdon, and Uriah Anderson and in 1813 Jesse Mezzle and Archibald Culberth. The Emanuel County Courthouse has been destroyed by fire five times -- in 1841, 1855, 1857, 1919, and 1938. The county records included here are the earliest surviving.

Records Available to Members of Georgia Pioneers

Emanuel County Wills 1825-1857 (Digital Images Images) Testator's Names

Emanuel County Wills 1857-1907 (Digital Images)
Testator's Names

Index to Emanuel County Wills, Administrations, Guardians, Bonds, Book A 1815-1868

Misc. Wills & Estates - Roberts, Nathan, LWT (1828), image of original; and Sison, Stephen, LWT.

No comments: